In my ten years visiting Malta, one of the delights I always relish is breakfast in the big restaurant of my hotel in the company of hundreds of other guests.
I always find a spot that provides me with a vantage point to oversee the spectacle of feeding time for the masses, and observe the various idiosyncrasies of the diners – an exercise that can be most informative as well as highly entertaining.
One thing that has always intrigued me is this: why do the British not trust the Maltese to wash cups? Plates, bowls, glasses, cutlery, yes – but cups, no. It seems to be a serious matter for them – so fraught that they can’t afford to take a chance. So the women amble in to the restaurant with a handbag in one hand and a mug in the other. Not only that, but the men follow sheepishly behind, and yes, you guessed it, armed with a mug too.
Now, I’ve tried to get a ‘handle’ on this – if you pardon the pun – but as yet, I’ve failed. Lets look at it this way. If it were a case of the restaurant cups being too small, fair enough, but I’m certain that with the appropriate representation to the ‘Food and Beverage’ manager, suitable larger ones could easily be provided. No, it’s something else. I’m convinced it’s all in the mind. I suspect that they have these horror visions of all the disease-ridden wretches that have supped from those cups in the past, and they’re determined to avoid any semblance of a germ, dead or alive, that the Maltese in their negligence may have failed to remove. It reminds me of a tried and trusted old Irish motto: better be safe than sorry.

This is an extract from ‘IT’S A LONG WAY TO MALTA’ by PADDY CUMMINS
To read a larger slice or to buy the book as E-Book or Paperback Click: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008QNJJBE

“AND YES, I WILL TAKE MY OWN MUG TO THE HOTEL WITH ME”
ELAINE G. (Top 500 Reviewer)

If you have ever been to Malta or are planning a trip there, the book, ‘IT’S A LONG WAY TO MALTA’ is a must read. It is Malta through the eyes of an Irishman who has visited there every year for the past ten years.
Paddy Cummins, in the words of X factor judges “nailed it” when he describes the island and the people – I found myself nodding away and agreeing with him totally. His lighthearted descriptions of the British tourists also had me in total agreement – he really is a people watcher of the first order!
Whilst I have been to many of the places he has mentioned in his book, he talks about a whole host of places I haven’t visited yet and now I am eager to go again and do more exploring, encouraged by his obvious love of his “home from home.”
I noted, after a bit of googling, that he must have renamed the hotel he stayed in (probably to keep it a hidden treasure) but from his description of it, I am pretty sure I know which one it is.
I am inspired by this book and can understand now why so many elderly people choose to winter there for three months at a time.
Hopefully, God willing, in a few years time I will be able to do the same, and YES, I WILL TAKE MY OWN MUG TO THE HOTEL WITH ME.

This is one of a list of Amazon 5-Star Reviews of ‘IT’S A LONG WAY TO MALTA’ by PADDY CUMMINS

To view other reviews or to buy the book as an E-Book or Paperback just click:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008QNJJBE

